RESOURCES

Taking Care of  Yourself

Fact sheets on mental health and wellness http://ulifeline.org

Needing to talk to someone about your stress and crisis?   Veteran?  LGBTQ?  

If you’re concerned about a friend that may be suicidal

http://asklistenrefer.org/cc

Columbia College Counseling Services

http://www.ccis.edu/offices/campuslife/counseling

WRITING TOOLS
Active and Passive Voice from OWL  http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/print/grammar/g_actpass.html
Grammar Girl     http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/
MLA Citations from Duke Library, Long Island University, and University of Wisconsin, Madison http://library.duke.edu/research/citing/within/mla.html
http://www.liu.edu/cwis/cwp/library/workshop/citmla.htm
http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/DocMLA.html
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)  http://owl.english.purdue.edu/
Writing Center of Notre Dame  http://www.nd.edu/~writing/resources/index.html

The resources here are divided into ‘themes’ within the Communication Studies major at C.C.

COMMUNICATION STUDIES
American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States
http://americanrhetoric.com
Central States Communication Association http://www.csca-net.org/
Hawaii International Conference on the Arts and Humanities http://www.hichumanities.org/
Logical Fallacies: The Fallacy File http://www.fallacyfiles.org/
National Communication Association http://www.natcom.org
Silva Rhetoricae: The Forest of Rhetoric http://humanities.byu.edu/rhetoric/silva.htm
Stephen’s Guide to Fallacies http://www.onegoodmove.org/fallacy/toc.htm
Toulmin Project http://www.unl.edu/speech/comm109/Toulmin/

MEDIA STUDIES
American Film Institute http://www.afi.com
American Museum of Photography http://www.photographymuseum.com
American Photography http://www.pbs.org/ktca/americanphotography
American Society of Cinematographers http://www.theasc.com/
Blue Eyes Magazine [featuring photography and commentary] http://www.blueeyesmagazine.com
Bright Lights Film Journal http://www.brightlightsfilm.com
Cahiers du Cinema http://www.cahiersducinema.com
Camera Obscura http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/camera_obscura/
Cineaste  http://www.cineaste.com/
Cinefex  http://www.cinefex.com/magazine.html
Cinema Journal  http://www.muse.jhu.edu/journals/cj/
Cinema Scope  http://www.cinema-scope.com/
Columbia Journalism Review http://www.cjr.org
earlycinema.com http://earlycinema.com
Fairness and Accuracy In Reporting http://www.fair.org
Film Comment  http://www.filmlinc.com/fcm/fcm.htm
filmsite.org http://www.filmsite.org/
Film Independent http://filmindependent.org/
Film Quarterly  http://www.filmquarterly.org/
Framework  http://www.frameworkonline.com/index2.htm
Free Press: media reform through education, organizing, and advocacy http://www.freepress.net
freedomforum.org http://www.freedomforum.org
Garage Art http://garage-art.org
George Eastman House http://www.eastmanhouse.org/
Images:  Journal of film and popular culture  http://www.imagesjournal.com
Independent Lens http://www.pbs.org/independentlens/insideindies/resources.html
Internet Movie Database http://us.imdb.com
Journal of Film and Video  http://www.press.uillinois.edu/journals/jfv.html
Journal of Popular Film and Television  http://www.heldref.org/jpft.php
Jump Cut  http://www.ejumpcut.org/
Kinoeye:  New Perspectives on European Film  http://www.kinoeye.org
Literature/Film Quarterly  http://www.salisbury.edu/lfq/
Masters of Photography http://www.masters-of-photography.com
Media College  http://www.mediacollege.com/
The Media History Project http://www.mediahistory.umn.edu/movies.html
Midnight Eye  http://www.midnighteye.com
Millennium Film Journal  http://mfj-online.org/
National Public Radio http://www.npr.org
The News That Didn’t Make the News http://www.projectcensored.org
Obscenity http://library.findlaw.com/2003/May/15/132747.html
O-H-I-O http://www.osu.edu/features/2007/ohio/
PBS http://www.pbs.org
Prints and Photographs Reading Room http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/
Quarterly Review of Film and Video  http://www.tandf.co.uk/journals/titles/10509208.asp
r blog http://www.rosie.com
Rue Morgue:  Horror in Culture and Entertainment  http://www.rue-morgue.com
Scope  http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/film/journal
Screen  http://www.screen.arts.gla.ac.uk/
ScreenSite http://www.screensite.org
Senses of Cinema  http://www.sensesofcinema.com/
Sight and Sound  http://www.bfi.org.uk/sightandsound/
Variety  http://www.variety.com
Velvet Light Trap  http://www.utexas.edu/utpress/journals/jvlt.html
Visual Diaries http://visualdiaries.com
Wide Angle  http://www.muse.jhu.edu/journals/wide_angle/
Women’s Institute for Freedom of the Press http://www.wifp.org
Yahoo! Movies http://movies.yahoo.com

PERFORMANCE STUDIES
Actual Lives Performance Project http://actuallives.org
Anna Schuleit Official Home Page http://anna-schuleit.com
Black Mountain College http://www.blackmountaincollege.org/
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/americanmasters/database/black_mountain_college.html
Craig Gingrich-Philbrook Encryptions…in a Restless Time http://homepage.mac.com/pgws/Menu1.html
Franklin Furnace Archive Inc. http://www.franklinfurnace.org/
Garage Art http://garage-art.org
Gomez-Pena and La Pocha Nostra http://www.pochanostra.com/#Scene_1
Hemispheric Institute http://hemi.nyu.edu
History of Performance Studies http://www.comm.unt.edu/histofperf/history.htm
Independent Performance Group http://www.judychicago.com
Israeli Folktale Archives http://research.haifa.ac.il/~folklore/ifa.htm
Jane Yolen Official Website http://janeyolen.com/
The Jewish Storytelling Newsletter http://www.caje.org/interact/fs_story.html
Judy Chicago Official Website http://www.judychicago.com
Karen Finley Official Website http://karenfinley.com
the kitchen is here http://www.thekitchen.org/
Laurie Anderson Official Website http://www.laurieanderson.com
Liminalities: A Journal of Performance Studies http://liminalities.net
Mickee Faust Club http://www.mickeefaust.com
McCoy’s Guide to Theatre and Performance Studies http://www.stetson.edu/csata/thr_guid.html
National Endowment of Arts http://www.nea.gov
National Performance Network http://www.npnweb.org/
National Storytelling Newtwork http://www.storynet.org
Northwestern University School of Communication http://www.communication.northwestern.edu/performancestudies/
Performance Space 122 http://www.ps122.org/
Performance Studies Division of the National Communication Association http://performancestudies.wordpress.com
Performance Studies International http://psi-web.org
Story Arts http://www.storyarts.org
StoryCorps http://www.storycorps.org/
Text and Performance Quarterly http://tandf.co.uk/journals/titles/10462937.asp
Tisch School of the Arts http://performance.tisch.nyu.edu/page/home.html
UBUWEB http://www.ubu.com
The Wooster Group http://www.thewoostergroup.org/